an atheist viewpoint

thoughts from a non-theist

Joe Cienkowski, Liar

Obama said "if political winds turn ugly, I'll stand with Muslims" & "Future doesn't hold for those who insult prophet Muhammad

Obama said “if political winds turn ugly, I’ll stand with Muslims” & “Future doesn’t hold for those who insult prophet Muhammad

The above is a tweet combining two of arch fundie dick bag Joe Cienkowski’s favourite ‘Obama’ quotes. As with everything else he says, thinks, or writes it isn’t what it appears.

The first ‘quote’ is taken from ‘Dreams of My Father’, and the context completely changes what Joe claims is being said. Here’s the full text (I have emphasised the section Joe quotes) –

“Whenever I appear before immigrant audiences, I can count on some good-natured ribbing from my staff after my speech; according to them, my remarks always follow a three-part structure: “I am your friend,” “[Fill in the home country] has been a cradle of civilization,” and “You embody the American dream.” They’re right, my message is simple, for what I’ve come to understand is that my mere presence before these newly minted Americans serves notice that they matter, that they are voters critical to my success and full-fledged citizens deserving of respect.
“Of course, not all my conversations in immigrant communities follow this easy pattern. In the wake of 9/11, my meetings with Arab and Pakistani Americans, for example, have a more urgent quality, for the stories of detentions and FBI questioning and hard stares from neighbors have shaken their sense of security and belonging. They have been reminded that the history of immigration in this country has a dark underbelly; they need specific assurances that their citizenship really means something, that America has learned the right lessons from the Japanese internments during World War II, and that I will stand with them should the political winds shift in an ugly direction.” [Page 260-261] . . . ‘Dreams of my Father’

Notice there is not a single use of the word ‘Muslim’ in that text. Also notice that the context of what’s being said completely changes the meaning from that suggested by Joe.

What of the other ‘quote’? That ‘Future doesn’t hold for those who insult prophet Muhammad’ line? The actual text, from a speech reproduced in its entirety here, runs like this –

“The future must not belong to those who slander the prophet of Islam. But to be credible, those who condemn that slander must also condemn the hate we see in the images of Jesus Christ that are desecrated, or churches that are destroyed, or the Holocaust that is denied.”

Yet again, notice that the context is completely different from that suggested by Joe. Also notice that there is no mention of the word ‘Muhammad’ in the original.

Joe Cienkowski is a liar.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Joe Cienkowski, Liar

  1. Mr. Gordons on said:

    Do you have permission to use that screenshot and picture of Joe?

    • Alex Botten on said:

      It’s a screen shot, and you(r friend), Bob, say that’s fine ( http://eyeonicr.wordpress.com/2013/01/30/recursive-debunking/#comment-5612). Also it’s on twitter, which is entirely public, so I don’t need permission.

      However, if I’d posted stuff from his Facebook page, using images he had the copyright on and hadn’t explicitly made public, then I would remove it if Joe asked me to.

      However, Bob…I mean, ‘Mr Gordons’, YOU are not Joe, and you have no right to complain either way.

      So trot on, fatty.

Write what you like, but don't cry if you act like a dick and get banned for it

