an atheist viewpoint

thoughts from a non-theist

Bob Sorensen’s Libel

Remember a few weeks ago when I commented on a post that Bob ‘Stormbringer’ Sorensen had posted on his blog? It was a nasty piece even by his standards, and he did his typical ‘I’ve not named anyone, so it isn’t libel!’ nonsense immediately afterwards.

Well, firstly, I’d suggest Bob go away and read up about libel and defamation, he could start here, from where the following comes –

“What if I change the person’s name?

To state a defamation claim, the person claiming defamation need not be mentioned by name—the plaintiff only needs to be reasonably identifiable. So if you defame the “government executive who makes his home at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue,” it is still reasonably identifiable as the president.”

So, despite not naming me in his blog post, there is enough in there to identify me (he mentions my views on religion, the area I live in – including a map for good measure, and even the type of computer I use) which means that the piece is most certainly libelous.

As if that weren’t bad enough for Bob, he’s made the libel explicit by directly referring to me as Halloween ‘Hail Samhain’ boy in a comment on the Debunking Atheists blog. I’ve screen capped it and reproduced it below, in case Bob suddenly has a moment of clarity and realises what he’s done –

I got Halloween Boy (“Hail, Samhain!”) angry again, didn’t I? Doesn’t take much when your life is consumed with hate.

 

….as you can see, he is replying directly to me in his comment.

It’s as clear as day, Bob has libeled me, accusing me of being a drunk, homeless, jobless, aggressive, and a danger to others.

Does anyone know a good lawyer?

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Bob Sorensen’s Libel

  1. You’re a coward, Cowboy Bob. You refuse to live up the the standards you espouse.

  2. After seeing the tax return of Eric Hovind, this may not be a bad idea!

  3. How in hell did you see that?

  4. @Derik

    I second that, altho we discused the tax forms on the podcast, I never did ask how you came by the information.

  5. Being in the loop on Twitter definitely helped me get that information.

  6. Pingback: More Bitter Ranting From Bob Sorensen « an atheist viewpoint

Write what you like, but don't cry if you act like a dick and get banned for it

