an atheist viewpoint

thoughts from a non-theist

Bob Sorensen: Whining Liar For Jesus

Liar for Jesus, Bob Sorensen, the man behind the thoroughly dishonest ‘Question Evolution Project’, and an individual who will not shy away from any falsehood if it he thinks it will further his aims, has published a whine about lying on his sorry excuse for a blog.

The most interesting part follows –

Further, this foolishness of calling someone a liar out of hand commits several fallacious things at once: Poison the well, appeal to ridicule, commit an abusive ad hominem and others. This trick conveniently dodges any truths that the other person may be saying that the attacker finds inconvenient.

Unlike the false reality of leftists, the accusation itself is not the same as a conviction.

I’m going to put this to those people: When making such an accusation, you must give evidence (as well as motive) that the other person is actually lying. Back it up, Bertram. Not that you disagree, not that they are mistaken, not that they are using hyperbole to make a point, not that they are making a joke, but genuinely lying. Otherwise, I fully believe it is reasonable to accuse you of being the liar, attempting to manipulate the opinions of non-thinkers in your favor. And you being a liar would disappoint Sam Harris.

OK, Bob, who was this article on YOUR page about? You see, Bob, there’s only ONE atheist that you’re aware of who lives in the same area as Halesowen (albeit several miles away), and that’s me. If the article you previously wrote is about me then we can check the claims you made against the reality of my life –

1. you claimed I was a drunk – this is not true, I do not drink

2. you claimed I was homeless – this is not true, I have never been homeless

3. you claimed that I was evicted – I have never been evicted in my life

4. you claimed I was jobless – this is again not true

5. you claimed that I ‘beg’ for use of electricity sockets – why would I do such a thing in my own flat?

6. you claimed that I suffered from ‘outbursts of extreme rage’ – I have never done any such thing

YOU have made these claims about ME, Bob. In your own words ‘Back it up, Bertram’, or be correctly dubbed a ‘liar for Jesus’.


						
						

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Bob Sorensen: Whining Liar For Jesus

  1.      Strange, I did a post about much the same thing.

  2. I love when bloggers post things but don’t allow comments. At that point it’s more of a diary or a journal. Why is he not posting on LiveJournal instead?

    I would also like to point out another interesting spot. In his headline he states “Evolution is a lie.”

    If this was true why would he need to prove evolution to be false?

    This definitely sounds like poisoning the well to me, as well as attempting to induce a knee-jerk reaction from those that disagree with him.

    Again, his own statement “When making such an accusation, you must give evidence (as well as motive) that the other person is actually lying.”

    What evidence for motive does he have that these scientist, that have compiled the research related to evolution, are lying?

    If it’s a lie should it not be self-refuting to those that truly investigate the subject matter?

    • This definitely sounds like poisoning the well to me, as well as attempting to induce a knee-jerk reaction from those that disagree with him.

      Puddlebringer has done nothing but antagonize people that threaten his faith. At one point, I was actually able to converse with the guy, but I found I had to put aside many of the things I value in order to be polite – and he certainly wasn’t willing to reciprocate.

      The guy knows he’s dishonest, and he doesn’t care.

  3. Think Sorensen (or is it “Norman”?) is much worse than this MrMannn guy?

Write what you like, but don't cry if you act like a dick and get banned for it

