an atheist viewpoint

thoughts from a non-theist

It’s Been a Year Since I First Encountered Sye!

Wow! I can’t believe that the time has gone by so fast! It’s been a year since this post introduced the name Sye Ten Bruggencate to this blog. In that time I have learned loads, finessed my arguments against theists, and generally had a great old time.

Sye, on the other hand, has learned nothing, and hasn’t changed his argument at all. He sees this as a strength, I see his dullness of thought as a major weakness.

Still, a whole year! Wow again!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “It’s Been a Year Since I First Encountered Sye!

  1. Speaking only fir myself, I really wish I’d never encountered the douchebag.

    A tiny minority of the SMRTians felt Sye was, deep down, a nice guy. I’m not one of those. He’s a dishonest prick hoping to shore up his leaky worldview with semantics. He gives sincere Christians (the quiet shrinking majority) a bad name.

    If his God exists, he’s fucked.

  2. It’s been a bit over a year for me, and I can’t help feeling that it’s been a gigantic waste of time. On the upside, however, if it weren’t for Sye and his BS, Skepticule Extra (aka the Three Pauls Podcast) probably wouldn’t exist.

  3. I don’t know, I’m sure we have a bit to thank Sye for, I mean because of people like him proselytizing the TAG argument, we get people a stronger voice in people like Hezekiah.

    I am unsure if I desire to speak with Sye after listening to all the Fundamentally Flawed podcasts with him… though I must admit I’ve listened to Alex turn him in circles on the third appearance, about four times now. I laugh, I cry, I hit repeat.

  4. Wow you can tell I am tired this evening. I’m not even sure what that was supposed to mean when I wrote it. But what I was trying to say was:

    …because of people like him [Sye] proselytizing the TAG argument, we get people willing to voice the argument more, like Hezekiah.

    (and maybe people like Hezekiah can get to the real argument in TAG. If there is one.)

    I felt I was exposed to a good amount of Hezekiah’s world view when I had him on my podcast this week. We didn’t allow the circular argument to happen and he was able to express his views without getting locked into the “How do you know?” vortex.

Write what you like, but don't cry if you act like a dick and get banned for it

