an atheist viewpoint

thoughts from a non-theist

A Christian Writes on Creationism and ID

While I’m briefly taking a break from my break (if you see what I mean), I may as well point you at this rather excellent article on the ‘Upside Down World’ blog. In it, Rebecca Trotter makes a solid argument for why teaching children Creationism and ID is a terrible idea for Christian parents. People like Hovind, Ham, Comfort, Cienkowski, Marvin, and Sorensen could do well to take some of this in.

Glen Morton who published more than twenty articles in the Creation Science Research Quarterly in the 80s says:

The data I was seeing at work was not agreeing with what I had been taught as a Christian. Doubts about what I was writing and teaching began to grow. . . day after day, my job forced me to confront that awful data. . . Eventually, by 1994 I was through with young-earth creationism. Nothing that young-earth creationists had taught me about geology had turned out to be true. I took a poll of all eight of the graduates from ICR’s school who had gone into the oil industry and were working for various companies. I asked them one question, “From your oil industry experience, did any fact that you were taught at ICR, which challenged current geological thinking, turn out in the long run to be true?” That is a very simple question. One man, who worked for a major oil company, grew very silent on the phone, sighed, and softly said, “No!” A very close friend that I had hired, after hearing the question, exclaimed, “Wait a minute. There has to be one!” But he could not name one. No one else could either.
Being through with creationism, I was almost through with Christianity. I was thoroughly indoctrinated to believe that if the earth were not young and the flood not global, then the Bible was false. I was on the very verge of becoming an atheist. [Emphasis mine]

 

As I say, it’s an excellent read, and once I’m out of my current podcast retirement I’ll be asking Rebecca to appear on Fundamentally Flawed.

Single Post Navigation

Write what you like, but don't cry if you act like a dick and get banned for it

