an atheist viewpoint

thoughts from a non-theist

What a Difference a Year Makes

It’ll soon be the first anniversary of my first ever post here (a two sentence statement of intent, if you’re interested) in a couple of weeks, and things could hardly be more different.

In my first month of blogging I picked up a rather pitiful 761 page views, despite having churned out over 40 posts in that short time. So how does January 2012 compare? Well, we’re only a day into it, and I’ve hit 1709 views already! Not only has that wiped the floor with a year ago, it’s also based on one day….needless to say, it’s also the highest number of hits this blog has ever received in one day.

Of course, I’m completely aware that the person I have to thank is @GodsWordIsLaw, a man without whom’s arse-clanging stupidity I would have had nothing to blog about today…Thanks, Keith, by giving me things to write about, you’ve driven more traffic to my site than anyone else has ever managed.

I hope that causes him at least a small amount of anguish and frustration.

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “What a Difference a Year Makes

  1. If you havent figured out that he's a poe, you're a bigger asshole than he is. As long as people keep paying attention to him, he'll never go away. We have enough real homophobic jerks in the US without people pandering to fake ones like him.

  2. If you'd taken the time to read my previous comments about him you'd see I repeatedly call him a Poe. But even if he's a poe, that doesn't let him off the hook! A cunt's a cunt, no matter what he actually believes.

  3. Alex,Congratulations on the success of your blog. It's always a pleasure to see someone express pride in their successful endeavor, especially when that endeavor battles the irrational, anti-pride worldview known as theism. I have enjoyed reading and posting things here, and I look forward to doing so in the future.Thanks.Ydemoc

  4. You can thank me Alex.

  5. Thank you Lord, for making people have so much hatred in their hearts for us, over loving you and defending you that not only have they made blogs stronger, they have made their own life shorter.

  6. We can say that thiests have so much hatred in their hearts for us over loving reality and defending it that not only have they made blogs stronger, they hae made their own lives shorter.That, and the more time they spend blogging about us, the less time they have to influence their local gov'ts.

  7. I love you and Alex, Reynolds What now?

  8. Congratulations on your success. My somewhat-atheistic blog at http://somethingsurprising.blogpot.com has being going just one day longer than yours, and like yours has enjoyed a steady rise in visits. Must admit that you managed more hits than me yesterday, but my record is still from the day I posted this. I'm sure your readers will enjoy it.http://somethingsurprising.blogspot.com/2011/10/religions-know-their-place-in-oxford.html

  9. Trinity wrote: "I love you and Alex, Reynolds. What now?"Trinity is told by his bible to "love your neighbor as yourself"; yet, he is also told, "He that loveth his life shall lose it; and he that hateth his life in this world shall keep it unto life eternal"; and: "If any man come to me, and hate not his father, and mother, and wife, and children, and brethren, and sisters, yea, and his own life also, he cannot be my disciple. I wonder if he can reconcile these passages for us. Once he does this, I'm wondering if he can square that with what he wrote to me over on Dawson's blog:Trinity wrote: "I hope you get sent to the lowest deepest darkest abyss." (December 30, 2011 7:20 PM)Or perhaps Trinity sees me not as his enemy?Ydemoc

  10. Ydemoc I hope you get sent to the lowest deepest darkest hell.

  11. Wow, you're a bit of a dick when pushed, aren't you Trinity?

  12.      "I hope you get sent to the lowest deepest darkest hell."     Can't you just feel the love? Ne neither.

  13. Alex I try to love everybody but some people can really act like an ass i.e. Ydemoc.Pv still waiting for you to come say hi.

  14. Alex wrote: "Wow, you're a bit of a dick when pushed, aren't you Trinity?"He certainly could've reconciled all those bible verses with each other; and then squared that with his hope of banishment for me. But apparently he has "automatically" chosen not to do so, and has "automatically" chosen to make many of his replies to me personal rather than about ideas.When he wrote the same thing over on Dawson's blog, I responded: "But, hey, this is to be expected from a lot of Christians: Hoping that those with whom they disagree get sent to an imaginary place of eternal torture" and not an imaginary place of eternal bliss. If I may float an idea here: It is this Christian hope in an imaginary heaven and hell — and its inescapable clash with reality that drove so many to take matters into their own hands in attempts to realize here on earth that which is only imaginary. This quest for wish fulfillment has been clearly demonstrated throughout history, in the torturing and killing of heretics, witches, and non-believers. And Christians continue this quest, taking matters into their own hands, even unto this day (cf., Andrea Yates; Eric Rudolph; Michael Griffin; Anders Breivik)Furthermore, in comments past, Trinity has indicated people send themselves to hell. But in the comment above, he seems to be saying that we are sent there by someone other than ourselves.Oh, well… such are the inconsistencies of Christianity.Ydemoc

  15. Trinity wrote: "Alex I try to love everybody but some people can really act like an ass i.e. Ydemoc."I don't think your bible directs you to "try to love everybody"; I think your bible tells you that this is what you must do, whether your neighbor is an ass or not. Observe:Mk: 22:39 – "The second is like it: 'You must love your neighbor as yourself.'"You say you only "try" to uphold this commandment. With this in mind, let's consider the other passages:"He that loveth his life shall lose it; and he that hateth his life in this world shall keep it unto life eternal"Do you also "try" not to love your life? Do you "try" to hate your life?"If any man come to me, and hate not his father, and mother, and wife, and children, and brethren, and sisters, yea, and his own life also, he cannot be my disciple."Do also "try" to hate your father, mother, wife, children, and brethren? Ydemoc

  16. yea I hate everybody

Write what you like, but don't cry if you act like a dick and get banned for it

