an atheist viewpoint

thoughts from a non-theist

A Message For Sye Ten Bruggencate

Sye, I’ve stopped ‘debating’ you because you are a deluded, blinkered, mad man. Realising that continuing to ‘debate’ you would be a waste of my time is not me being defeated by your self-proclaimed intellect, it is nothing more than me realising that I’ve been an idiot thinking an honest debate would be possible with someone like you*.

I’ll happily discuss religion (including the TAG, though not on this blog) with other believers (such as Dustin or Eric), but I won’t interact with you any longer – you’re so far through the looking glass that you’re beyond help.

I feel sorry for you, but I’m sure you’ll continue to swan around the world telling lies for money and patting yourself on the back whether I’m sparring with you or not.

*someone who is literally incapable of understanding what evidence or truth is.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “A Message For Sye Ten Bruggencate

  1. How conveeeeeenient :-DYou really think you are fooling anyone? Let's see who you continue to debate and what you say about them, and see if you afford them any more respect than you do me. We both (and I trust all reading along) really know why you are avoiding me.

  2. Sye – I will make it as plain to you as I possibly can, in the full knowledge that you are constitutionally unable to comprehend what I'm saying, but in the hope that others might learn from the errors that your pride has lead you into.The reason that so many people give up debating you is not because you possess irrefutable arguments. It's because you are not equipped to engage in debate and are not particularly interested in debate. This makes debates with you a waste of everybody's time – including your own.At the moment, your self-professed wisdom is a shame to we Christians everywhere. My only hope is that at some point in the future you'll come to God with true humility in your heart, rather than the false humility that you wear so proudly in the world.

  3. "We Christians" – Good one :-DAnonymous of course :-D(For obvious reasons).

  4. Alex dislikes debating Sye b/c Sye forces him to face his own vicious circularity, and he doesn't want to admit it. He wants to accuse Christians of engaging in circular reasoning and refuses to admit the obvious, which Sye has pointed out many times, that he relies on his senses, memory, and reasoning to ground his senses, memory, and reasoning.If only Alex would concede the obvious and continue on with that firmly in mind and consistently in argumentation, thus doing the intellectually honest thing, then the debate could advance. Since Alex is stuck in his foolish bias, Sye has to keep harping on the same thing. Alex is mad at his own mirror.

  5. Nope, but feel free to keep on believing your delusions, Alan!

  6. Sye:I could be anonymous, I could be pseudonymous, I could use my real name. It wouldn't make any difference at all to the point I was making. A point which of course you don't want to address in your own life, for understandable reasons.Alan:He wants to accuse Christians of engaging in circular reasoning and refuses to admit the obvious, which Sye has pointed out many times, that he relies on his senses, memory, and reasoning to ground his senses, memory, and reasoning.No. He want Sye and yourself to recognise that everybody in the world relies on exactly the same assumption in order to function: that their senses are a reasonably accurate guide to the world. It's not a trick question. The reason you refuse to even countenance the idea is because it attacks your utter certainty that you are right.I think it's increasingly clear that this isn't a question of religion or rationality for either of you. The way in which you present yourselves online, and particularly the sense of superiority that you take great care to cultivate, suggests that your self-esteem is very tightly wrapped up in these exchanges. I have no interest in speculating on why that is – I don't know either of you – but it's a depressing sight.

  7. Anonymous,The reliability of our senses is not an assumption, on the Christian worldview. It is a consequence, a conclusion, given our true presupposition. So I'm sorry. Not only have you failed to justify your own assumptions in a non-circular way, you've also not yet understood our own argument or position.your self-esteem is very tightly wrapped up in these exchangesThankfully, your over-teh-Interw3bz psychoanalysis of me is as good as your analysis of my position.

  8. "Thankfully, your over-teh-Interw3bz psychoanalysis of me is as good as your analysis of my position."So he's stop on then?

  9. Hi. I have been reading some comments here. This one "The reason that so many people give up debating you is not because you possess irrefutable arguments. It's because you are not equipped to engage in debate and are not particularly interested in debate. This makes debates with you a waste of everybody's time – including your own"is very sad. Is this an effort to try to stop Sye from debating? Please listen to what you are saying. I have heard some of these debates and it seems to come down to this: whoever Sye is debating can not or will not answer his questions. Your reasoning usually ends up being circular. Sye asks something like "how do you know your reasoning is valid?" The answer may be something like "because I know it is valid" or "because a majority of people reason the same way" or because "I have tried it and it works". Really, how do you know anything at all? If you want a debate and you are truly "openminded" go down the path for a moment and really try to answer the question honestly, not with rhetorical fluff. If you don't answer the question posed to you in a debate is it really a debate? Is it not just speaking and then covering your ears when the other person speaks?

  10. whoever Sye is debating can not or will not answer his questions.No — whoever Sye is debating (and I've now done a little bit of this so I can see it) answers, and Sye either ignores the answers or dismisses them out-of-hand rather than engaging with them.As you're doing here:Really, how do you know anything at all? I've answered Sye several times on that — you can go look at another thread on this site, and see. But I haven't given him the answer he wants, so he treats it as unanswered.The only difference between my reasoning and Sye's is that he feels by pointing to some outside non-material source, he can evade the same challenges he uses on other people. He's wrong, but that's what he's trying to do.To paraphrapse: "How do you know anything at all? Because God told me. How do you know God told you? I just do."That's not an argument, that's defining away the question. An answer to the question is: "Because my senses tell me things, and those things are predictable into the future, and help me learn things I didn't know, that still fit into my worldview." That's how I know. Now, do you have any other points to make, or are you going to cover your ears and ask "But how do you know anything at all?" again?

  11. Maarten, I've replied to Sye's questions many many times, both online and on the Fundamentally Flawed podcast. His arguments are dead, and it's rather embarrassing for you to rock on up at this late stage and, like a well trained Sye-borg, posit them again.

  12. Someone from the past, crater on the dark side of the moon. That is your name isn't it?Just saying "Oh dear" and how sad it is to see you still spending all your time on this stupidity.Just accept it Sigh, ahh. There is no God. Never has been except in the imagination of many easily led fools. Ah, that includes you too. Let your venom flow, remember all??? Or too many nasty substances since I last saw you on FB? Memory loss.I have seen you quite a number of times you know. Up close. You never had a clue and still don't. WHere's that lawyer now?This is Robby. Or is it Albert? Or….. you know, the one from downstairs. Decided to enter your life and thoughts permanently this time. Enjoy, I'll talk to you from the inside from now on.

Write what you like, but don't cry if you act like a dick and get banned for it

