an atheist viewpoint

thoughts from a non-theist

A Message from the Comments

A Twitter user calling him/herself Rhology decided to pop by today and pass on their opinion of the discussion with Sye and Eric – whilst reading this remember that I’ve never spoken to this person before….

Cheers indeed! I replied thusly –

After another crowing response from this individual I decided to have a little look at their blog….lo and behold, the writer is a pro-life, Young Earth Creationist! Or, as I prefer to call them, ‘an idiot’. Which is what I then called him, before hitting the ‘block’ button. 
Now, usually I wouldn’t go on to dedicate a blog post to a creatard like Rhology, but he felt he needed to pop up in the comments right here and share his ‘opinion’. You can read the whole thing here, but I’ll reproduce a few of the highlights…..
Since you had the courtesy to visit my blog and then fling a cheap insult my way, I thought I’d go ahead and return the former favor (but forego the latter).
Really? That’s a novel take on the chronology of what actually happened, isn’t it? Not going to mention the fact that you popped up, uninvited, in my Twitter feed? No? No, I didn’t think you would….

I’d like to ask you about this statement, which you repeated quite a bit when you were on with SyeTenB and @erichovind; that is, you expressed moral outrage several times.

It is insulting in the extreme to have someone else claim to know what you think

So what? Is it a morally bad thing to insult someone?

I think the best thing to do at this point is refer you to your own Bible

 22But I say unto you, That whosoever is angry with his brother without a cause shall be in danger of the judgment: and whosoever shall say to his brother, Raca, shall be in danger of the council: but whosoever shall say, Thou fool, shall be in danger of hell fire.

Matthew 5:22 – King James Version (KJV)

 
Seems that your own god has a bit of a problem with insulting people, and I seem to remember the 10 Commandments has something about not lying in there. I find it offensive that you belittle me (and everyone else who doesn’t agree with your transcendental bullshit) by claiming that we hold a view that I can assure you we do not. Are you so insecure in your numbers that you have to artificially recruit from non-believers? 

I’d like to know how you know that.

I’d like to know how YOU know that, without recourse to your viciously circular TAG….

Also, you said something that’s unintentionally funny:
In fact, the ONLY way you could possible know what I’m thinking and what I do and do not believe would be if you were omniscient.

Pair that up with:
I do not believe in ANY of the 4000+ gods mankind has invented during his time

…and we have the makings of a serious irony vortex.

Really? Well I’m sure that’s lovely for you.

For one thing, it is unbelievably bizarre to me how Sye could tell you at least twice on the show that we’re not claiming all knowledge but rather to know someone who does have all knowledge, and you still don’t want to take that into account. That says something about your willingness to be honest. 

Are you sure? Because you’re claiming to know an invisible super being who sacrificed himself to himself after knocking his own mother up so she could give birth to himself, who then decided that the only way to remove the ‘sin’ that he’d created (being the source of everything) was to ‘die’ for a mere three days as some kind of symbol….have I got anything wrong? You claim to know this individual, right? And you don’t think this is wholly ridiculous?

Hmmm, what do we call someone who’s not honest? Oh yes, you helpfully provided some colorful verbiage: hollow, lying, charlatan.

Yes, I’d say that accurately describes people like Sye and yourself.

Also, you claim to know that mankind invented these gods. To repeat (again) what Eric said to you, how do you know mankind invented them? Wouldn’t that require omniscience on your part? 

Do you believe that all those gods are real? If not, why not? In fact I’m willing to bet you AGREE with me that mankind made up all those gods (of course, you’ll claim YOUR god is the only one that wasn’t made up, just as worshippers of YHWH, Allah, Thor et al would…)

And don’t retreat, I beg you, to the tired move-the-goalposts-quick canard of “what I mean is I haven’t seen any evidence of any of those gods”. That also requires omniscience, for there are many things that evidence things you (and the rest of mankind) don’t yet understand. To claim knowledge that none of those things are evidence for a god (since that would mean you’d know all the things for which the things you observe are evidence) would thus require omniscience.

 
And there’s the rub. YOU want to claim to have access to knowledge that the rest of us don’t have, YOU are no different from the boggle eyed conspiracy theorists who desperately need to believe that 9/11 was an inside job, or that man never walked on the moon. Your inadequacy has let to you grasping hold of the chance of getting one over on your fellow man and hanging on for dear life!

You also haven’t seen any evidence that evidence is a good way to discover truth (EGW). So, since you believe EGW without evidence for that assertion, isn’t that blind faith?
And if you believe in EGW and think you know it to be true, why do you violate EGW in that most fundamentally important of cases?

Yawn, this is just the same, tired old bullshit, that Sye churns out.

So, you’ll have to come up with something else. I’d very much like to see you back up your harsh polemic with something other than mocking laughter. You sounded like a fool on the radio. Perhaps you’re better in writing.

Here’s an idea, why don’t YOU come back with an argument that isn’t dependent on circular reasoning and wish thinking? Why don’t YOU grow a pair and realise that your childish belief in gods and the supernatural is just that, childish? Why don’t YOU look at the massive log in your own eye before commenting on the specks in others?
As for your ‘fool’ comment, I’m refer you to the earlier quoted verse from Matthew.]
Rhology, people like you and Sye make me sick. You are, as Jim said elsewhere, everything that’s wrong with the world. You’re a liar for Jesus, a bullshitter for your god, and I would be grateful if you don’t bother returning.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “A Message from the Comments

  1. I didn't mean to make you so angry, Alex. I'm sorry I didn't realise you were so driven by emotion.Here's my reply, BTW.Peace, RhologyPS – If you'd try answering questions put to you occasionally, you might look like you have some idea what you're talking about.

  2. Oh dear, another one has appeared.

  3. Rhology, just because it's not the answer you want, doesn't mean an answer hasn't been given. Perhaps you should ask your god for the knowledge required to understand that?

  4. Sure, Alex. Let the reader judge, however.

  5. I think 'the reader' will 'judge' that you're a bit of a bell-end, IMO.

Write what you like, but don't cry if you act like a dick and get banned for it

