an atheist viewpoint

thoughts from a non-theist

A Message to Christian Readers

I’m doing this out of the kindness of my heart, and to save you a lot of time. Christians, I may not agree with most or all of what you preach, but I don’t want to see you getting sucked into some fad.

So, here’s what I suggest – if a member of your church starts mentioning that he has a sure fire ‘proof’ that your god exists, based on logic, then run him out of town. He’s pushing the viciously circular TAG and it’s nonsense from start to finish, but nonsense that seems to be rather popular at the moment amongst certain apologists. He may call it Presuppositional Apologetics, but whatever he says, he’s feeding you a line that is, at its heart, completely circular and useless.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “A Message to Christian Readers

  1. Soooo, let me see if I got this straight. A professed atheist is warning Christians against a certain apologetic methodology. Now, what makes more sense, that this atheist has concern for your wellbeing, or that this atheist had his worldview exposed for the nonsense that it is in a very recent podcast by someone employing it? It's not rocket science folks 🙂

  2.      No, but it is a false dichotomy. He could simply believe that christianity is harmful to the well-being of society because it diverts funds from useful programs and encourages killing people.

  3. "Soooo, let me see if I got this straight. A professed atheist is warning Christians against a certain apologetic methodology. Now, what makes more sense, that this atheist has concern for your wellbeing, or that this atheist had his worldview exposed for the nonsense that it is in a very recent podcast by someone employing it? "Sye, some of my family are believers, and I've seen nonsense like yours tear churches apart, as the pro and anti sides get worked up. I'm just giving a friendly and honest warning to people to ignore something that literally proves and answers nothing. I know you're heavily invested in the TAG, and I know you're currently feeling the need to follow me around the web and post wherever I post about it, but really, give it up, you've lost.

  4. "Sye, some of my family are believers, and I've seen nonsense like yours tear churches apart"Erm, that would be churches who worship a God that you hate, with a Bible which you say lies. Wouldn't tearing them apart be a good thing??? Yip, makes lots of sense there Alex 😀

  5. I'm doing this out of the kindness of my heart, and to save you a lot of time. Atheists, I may not agree with most or all of what you preach, but I don't want to see you getting sucked into some fad.So, here's what I suggest – if a member of your local 5-member atheist club starts mentioning that he has a sure fire 'proof' that evidence exists, based on logic, then run him out of town. He's pushing the viciously circular empiricist position and it's nonsense from start to finish, but nonsense that seems to be rather popular at the moment amongst certain atheist apologists. He may call it How We Know Things, but whatever he says, he's feeding you a line that is, at its heart, completely circular and useless.Thanks Alex! I'll keep my eye out!

  6. "Erm, that would be churches who worship a God that you hate, with a Bible which you say lies. Wouldn't tearing them apart be a good thing??? Yip, makes lots of sense there Alex :-D"Sye, please explain how one can hate something that doesn't exist. Please do this without recourse to bullshit.

  7. This post has been removed by the author.

  8. There we have it, Rhology thinks that 'evidence' is a fad….straight from his own comment.Brilliant.

  9. Oh, is that what I said?Only in Alex B's mind, I suppose.As for my part, I could've sworn I was talking about empiricism, not that Alex cares about properly representing others.

  10. As you refused to answer on your hilarious whinefest, I'll ask you again here – You have asked whether, in relation to tree growth rings, we can be sure those rings weren't already there when the tree was 'created'. I, in turn, have asked you if you are saying your god deliberately lied to us by making things appear old (as the appearance of age is unnecessary for a tree to be 'fully functional'. So, Rhology, do you believe your god 'created' trees with the appearance of age?Yes or no?

  11. Start here and read downward.Then answer some of the question put to you and we can continue.

  12. Nope. That's not how it's going to work, I have no intention of giving your shitty little apologetics blog another hit. So, answer the question – Yes, or No?If you can't answer then I'll just start deleting your posts, because I think you're a 'total dick', and my comments box explains clearly that I don't humour 'total dicks' beyond a certain point.

Write what you like, but don't cry if you act like a dick and get banned for it

