an atheist viewpoint

thoughts from a non-theist

I just spoke to Brandy Cienkowski

I rang the number people had found from the eBay listing.

Short version? She sounded fine. Annoyed to be called by her tone of voice, and I didn’t get chance to tell her before she angrily hung up that popping online to tell everyone she was ok would be a good idea considering the amount of speculation going on across the internet about her wellbeing.

So, she’s ok. I feel sorry for her having to put up with Joe Cienkowski, but he hasn’t harmed her. Hopefully he’ll be a better husband than he has been, and maybe he’ll curb some of his more excessing endless tweeting ways.

At least this story has a happy (ish) ending.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “I just spoke to Brandy Cienkowski

  1. You might want to update the original post too.

  2. I'm pleased but I'd like to be reassured about Joe's mental state too.

  3. I'm thinking maybe some kind of kind gesture from online Atheists to them would be good.

  4. I guess God (and Joe) has plans for Brandy… Good luck fair lady…you'll need it. PS: did you ever hear about the boy who cried wolf?

  5. Yeah, I think I'd be annoyed, too, if people thought my spouse killed me because she was a Creationist.

  6. "I'm thinking maybe some kind of kind gesture from online Atheists to them would be good."Shutting the bleep up and never irrationally assuming such awful things about anyone ever again based upon their beliefs would be a good start, don't you think?

  7. Annoyed to be called by her tone of voiceI would be annoyed too if I was hunted down by the internet police.

  8. "I would be annoyed too if I was hunted down by the internet police."BAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! Good one!

  9. "Shutting the bleep up and never irrationally assuming such awful things about anyone ever again based upon their beliefs would be a good start, don't you think? "Did you actually read what I previously wrote? Nowhere did I say that awful things had happened, I did, however, say that people were worried.No one was judging Joe Cienkowski based on his creationist views, they were reacting to the information Brandy had given them about him, followed by her sudden, unexplained silence. She described him as 'crazy', stated that he'd 'lost [his] mind', and took great pleasure in reporting that he'd been arrested for assault. As he has previous form for drugs offences as well it can be safely said that his bullshit religious views have nothing to do with the situation.Ultimately I think people did the right thing. No-one knew what had happened to Brandy, and the quest to discover her status was instigated by people she had befriended online. When the truth was discovered it was immediately reported back to those concerned, preventing conjecture turning ugly. At the end of the day, the well being of another human being was ascertained by concerned and caring individuals – is that wrong? What if the truth had been something else? What if something awful HAD happened? I maintain that the action taken to make sure Brandy was ok was the correct course, given the events preceding it.

  10. I didn't understand all of the Joe Cienkowski stuff until you guys explained it all on the podcast.Now it all makes sense, please kick butt. I may yet join in.

Write what you like, but don't cry if you act like a dick and get banned for it

