an atheist viewpoint

thoughts from a non-theist

God, repeatedly surprised and repentant

Apologists repeatedly claim that their god is incapable of making mistakes, and that it knows all of history and time in an instant, so cannot regret anything. Unfortunately for them the Bible says otherwise…

I Samuel 15:11

‘Then came the word of the Lord unto Samuel, saying, It repenteth Me that I have set up Saul to be king: for he is turned back from following Me, and hath not performed My commandments. And it grieved Samuel; and he cried unto the Lord all night.

Saul had been chosen by YWHW, yet here he is, regretting that choice.

What about this –

Num 14:11 The Lord said to Moses, “How long will these people treat me with contempt? How long will they refuse to believe in me, in spite of all the miraculous sings I have performed among them?”

Why does YWHW need to ask? Surely if he knows all of time he knows EXACTLY how long the people will treat him with contempt?

and there’s more…..

Genesis 6:6
And it repented the Lord that he had made man on the earth, and it grieved him at his heart.

Exodus 32:14
And the Lord repented of the evil which he thought to do unto his people.

Deuteronomy 32:36
For the Lord shall judge his people, and repent himself for his servants.

1 Samuel 15:35
The Lord repented that he had made Saul king over Israel.

2 Samuel 24:16
The Lord repented of the evil, and said to the angel that destroyed the people, it is enough: stay now thine hand.

1 Chronicles 21:15
The Lord beheld, and he repented him of the evil, and said to the angel that destroyed, It is enough, stay now thine hand.

Isaiah 38:1-5
In those days was Hezekiah sick unto death. And Isaiah … said unto him, Thus saith the LORD, Set thine house in order: for thou shalt die, and not live. … Thus saith the LORD … I have heard thy prayer, I have seen thy tears: behold, I will add unto thy days fifteen years.

…here are a few verses where YWHW speaks directly….

Jeremiah 15:6
I am weary of repenting. (I’ll bet he is!!)

Jeremiah 18:8
I will repent of the evil that I thought to do unto them.

Jeremiah 26:3
That I may repent me of the evil, which I purpose to do unto them.

….it goes on….

Jeremiah 26:13
The Lord will repent him of the evil that he hath pronounced against you.

Jeremiah 26:19
The Lord repented him of the evil which he had pronounced against them.

Jeremiah 42:10
For I [God] repent me of the evil that I have done unto you.

Amos 7:3, 6
The Lord repented for this.

Jonah 3:10
God repented of the evil, that he had said that he would do unto them.

So much for never being surprised or changing his mind!

Weirdly, I’ve read an apologist suggesting that the ability to change and adapt one’s behaviour in accordance with changes of circumstance ISN’T a good thing! This is the kind of lunacy that you end up dealing with when deluded faith heads stretch logic to breaking point in their attempts to explain how their impossible god can exist.

Single Post Navigation

Write what you like, but don't cry if you act like a dick and get banned for it

