an atheist viewpoint

thoughts from a non-theist

The Tyranny of Hell and the Vileness of God

A brilliant article from the Guardian

Moreover, the ideas about hell held historically by most religious believers are of disproportionately severe punishments. You look at the imaginatively foul tortures being dished out in the hells of Hieronymus Bosch, or some Buddhist art, and reflect that the worst people in human history do not deserve to be endlessly devoured and shat out by a canary-shaped demon.

Roz Kaveney has hit the nail in the head. The punishment of an eternity in hell is completely disproportionate to even the most ‘evil’ of ‘sins’, and the fact that it’s a supposedly loving God that will send living beings to suffer that punishment makes it even more grotesque. And don’t pull out any bullshit about Satan, that sadsack is God’s little helper, in no way is he the ‘enemy’ of YWHW! God even admits to this in Isaiah 45:7 –


“I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: I the LORD do all these things.”

YHWH does ALL of it, he’s behind the most heinous acts of man, the ones that then doom man to hell!

How can any sane individual believe the actions of this vile character are ‘good’? Why would anyone want to praise this maniac?

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “The Tyranny of Hell and the Vileness of God

  1. I'm not defending it, but….Doesn't TULIP flesh out the idea of Hell more than the kindergarten version most people think of?

  2. TULIP?I don't believe in hell or heaven or anything supernatural, so the whole thing is really just a lot of musing out loud.

  3. You know what TULIP is? I could post a link for your readers.I'm just saying that the concept seems to be a little more nuanced than most people consider when they think of it.

  4. Ah, the puritan Christian doctrine?Interesting, if merely another shade of 'wrong'

  5. Calling it puritan Christian doctrine is like calling atheism a biochemistry idea or democracy is something they do in Vermont.Yes the puritans did subscribe to it, but it is a little more widespread than that.http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Five_points_of_Calvinism#Five_points_of_Calvinism

  6. Calvinism has always sounded like pure evil to me. Of course, when I was a child my mother, a Calvinist herself, partially explained Calvinism as "God chose who to damn and who to save long before the earth was created. If He chose to damn you, there is nothing you can ever do about it. You will burn forever in Hell. Sleep well!"What part of TULIP "flesh[s] out the idea of Hell more than the kindergarten version most people think of?"

  7.      "How can any sane individual believe in this vile character?"     If the evidence said that he existed, I would have to believe. I think you mean "how can any sane individual believe this is good?" or something like that.

  8. I think what Pvblivs means is that someone who has claimed such an in-depth knowledge of theology should not have had to wait until someone posted a link to wikipedia for you to have had any knowledge of this thing that has made such an impact on the history of the UK and America.You come off as a bit of a backwoods hillbillyI's knows what I's knows and I's knows that you's wrong. Why you's wrong don't make no nevermind.

  9. Hey Anonymous! Thanks for dropping by! If you'd actually read what I wrote you'd see that I freely admitted that I hadn't finished my degree, my comments on PCM had been to point out that, even with an incomplete degree in Theology, I still had technically more qualification than someone with a full degree in something unrelated, or no degree at all.Still, if it's giving you a warm glow and a feeling of holy love to keep on insulting me whilst hiding behind anonymity then keep it up! I hope you feel like a proper big man! 🙂

  10. Sorry, I'd assume it was like not finishing a chemistry degree and never having heard of organic chemistry. but claiming to know more about chemistry than any of the profs.

  11. Anonymous! Back so soon! Please tell me where I've claimed to have a superior knowledge? I actually pointed out that even with practically NO knowledge I was still more qualified than the sad specimens at PCM.Anyway, as you're not polite enough to use your name, your future posts will be ignored!

  12. So Anon, are you going to explain what part of TULIP "flesh[s] out the idea of Hell more than the kindergarten version most people think of?"

  13. Anonymous:     I gave a reason why what Alex actually said, didn't seem to fit and gave what I thought was a likely actual meaning. I could be wrong about what he meant. And he can tell me if that is the case. And no, I didn't mean anything regarding a claim of "in depth knowledge of theology."

  14. " "How can any sane individual believe in this vile character?" If the evidence said that he existed, I would have to believe. I think you mean "how can any sane individual believe this is good?" or something like that. "pvblivs is right, will edit asap

Write what you like, but don't cry if you act like a dick and get banned for it

